Bishops elect new leaders - Solomon Star News

Bishops elect new leaders

15 May 2014

PORT Moresby – Catholic bishops in Papua New Guinea and Solomon Islands elected new office bearers at a meeting last week.

Bishop Arnold Orowae of Wabag, was elected president of the Catholic Bishop Conference of PNG and Solomons.

His deputy is Archbishop Steve Reichert of Madang.

They elected officials of different commissions of the conference.

The appointed bishops will serve through the Bishops Central Committee, which is elected every three years.

The members of the committee are Bishop Arnold Orowae, Reichert, Bishop Rochus Tatamai of Bereina, Bishop Gilles Cote’ of Daru-Kiunga, and Archbishop Douglas Young (Finance).

The bishops presented their views on the resettlement of asylum seekers to the committee set by the National Executive Council, which attended the meeting.

Lady Carol Kidu, the committee chairperson, and committee members are expected to forward their report to Cabinet.

Other issues raised by the bishops include education, health and plans for the conference.