Gov’t collapsing - Solomon Star News

Gov’t collapsing

29 October 2017

Sogavare loses seven ministers


A new government is likely to be formed within the next two weeks following the resignation of seven cabinet ministers yesterday.

More ministers are expected to tender their resignation letters in coming days.

Among those who resigned is Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Home Affairs Manasseh Maelanga.

The other six are:

·       Danny Philip, Minister for National Planning and Aid Coordination

·       Snyder Rini, Minister for Fisheries and Marine Resources

·       Chris Laore, Minister of Forestry and Research

·       Moses Garu, Minister of Police, National Security and Correctional Services

·       Moffat Fugui, Minister of Public Service

·       Elijah Doromuala, Minister of  Justice and Legal Affairs

Deputy Private Secretary to the Governor General, Rawcliffe Ziza confirmed to the Sunday Star seven ministers tendered their resignation letters to the Government House just before 4pm yesterday.

“Governor General Sir Frank Kabui has seen the letters and has accepted them,” Ziza said.

“He will officially reply to them tomorrow,” Ziza added.

He said in their letters, the resigned ministers stated they no longer have confidence in the leadership of Prime Minister Manasseh Sogavare.

The drama comes on the eve of the visit of Taiwanese president Dr Tsai Ing-wen, who is due in Honiara on Wednesday.

No official from the Office of the Prime Minister was immediately available last night to comment on this latest political move.

Meanwhile, a Member of Parliament yesterday told the Sunday Star that a motion of no-confidence against Sogavare will be tabled in the current sitting, and that a new prime minister will be elected within two weeks.

“Members of the Democratic Coalition for Change Government have totally lost all trust and confidence in the leadership of Sogavare,” the MP said, speaking to the Sunday Star on condition his name is not revealed.

“Sogavare has allowed his controversial nephew Robson Djokovic to control government affairs,” he added.

Djokovic serves as the Chief of Staff in the Office of the Prime Minister and Cabinet.

He said in a despite move, Djokovic made “lucrative” offers to Rini and Philip to remain with the government, but both MPs declined.

Djokovic has not answered his mobile phone when the Sunday Star called him yesterday.

Meanwhile, Solomon Star understands that the United Democratic Party, the major coalition partner in the DCCG, was not happy with the recent reassignment of Rini to the Ministry of Fisheries and Marine Resources.

Rini was swooped with John Maneniaru, who is now the new minister for Finance and Treasury.

The reshuffling of Rini and Maneniaru on October 13 was a continuation of a major cabinet shakeup the Prime Minister embarked on since early August.

The initial phase of the shakeup saw nine ministers reassigned and two terminated.

The list of reassigned ministers during the initial phase of the cabinet shakeup is as follows:

·      Stanley Sofu as Minister of Infrastructure Development;

·      John Dean Kuku as Minister of Education and Human Resources Development;

·      Moses Garu as Minister of Police, National Security and Correctional Services;

·      Elijah Doromuala as Minister of Justice and Legal Affairs;

·      William Marau as Minister of Commerce, Industries, Labour and Immigration;

·      Bradley Tovosia as Minister of Mines, Energy and Rural Electrification;

·      John Moffat Fugui as Minister of Public Service; and

·     Andrew Manepora as Minister of Land, Housing and Survey.

The UDP deemed the reshuffles were orchestrated by the President of the Kadere Party Peter Boyers and Djokovic.