31 October 2017

Prime Minister Manasseh Sogavare faces a motion of no-confidence when Parliament resumes next Monday.

The National Parliament Office confirmed that the Speaker of National Parliament Ajilon Nasiu received a motion of no-confidence notice from the Leader of the Independent Group Dr Derek Sikua on Sunday and was put on notice the same day.

A statement from the National Parliament said, “As stated in Section 34 (2) of the constitution, a motion of no confidence shall not be passed in Parliament unless notice of a motion has been given to the speaker at least 7 clear days before it is introduced.”

As such, the statement added, “The motion can be moved on or after 6th November 2017.

The motion of no-confidence was served after the mass resignation of government ministers and backbenchers since last Saturday.

The resigned Ministers are as follows:

1.      Manasseh Maelanga

2.      Danny Philip

3.      Snyder Rini

4.      John Moffat Fugui

5.      Chris Laore

6.      David Tome

7.      Moses Garu

8.      Samson Maneka

9.      Elijah Doromuala

The resigned Backbenchers are as follows:

1.      Sam Idurii

2.      Alfred Ghiro

3.      Jimmy Lusibaea

4.      Namson Tran

5.      Lionel Alex

6.      Charles Sigoto

7.      Martin Kealoe

8.      David Pacha

9.      Dickson Mua

Prime Minister Sogavare entered the Parliament chamber yesterday to the resigned Ministers and Backbenchers present seated with the 12 Members of the Opposition and Independent Group.

The Democratic Coalition for Change Government faithfuls that attended Parliament yesterday apart from the Prime Minister were:

1.      John Maneniaru- Minister of Finance and Treasury

2.      Milner Tozaka- Minister of Foreign Affairs and External Trade

3.      Festus Stanley Sofu- Minister of Infrastructure Development

4.      Dr Tautai Angikimua Kaitu’u- Minister of Health and Medical Services

5.      Peter Shanel Agovaka- Minister of Aviation and Communication

6.      Dudley Kopu- Minister of Agriculture and Livestock

7.      Bradley Tovosia- Minister of Mines and Energy

8.      Andrew Manepora- Minister of Land, Housing and Survey

9.      William Bradford Marau- Minister of Commerce, Industries, Employment and Immigration

10.   Freda Tuki- Minister of Women, Youth, Children and Family Affairs

11.   Jimson Tanangada- Minister of Rural Development

12.   Jackson Fiulaua- Chairman Government Caucus

13.   Ishmael Avui

14.   Augustine Auga

15.   Nestor Ghiro

The only government MP absent from Parliament yesterday was the MP for Temotu- Nende Commins Mewa.