Four ministries without ministers - Solomon Star News

Four ministries without ministers

03 November 2017

The Government has four of its ministerial portfolios vacant  as it struggles to regain numbers ahead of Monday’s no-confidence vote against the Prime Minister, Manasseh Sogavare.

Following the mass walk-out over the weekend, Mr Sogavare on Wednesday sworn in eight ministers to replace the defectors.

But they were mostly from his backbench, including two MPs who crossed earlier but decided to return and rejoin the government.

But four ministries – Fisheries and Marine Resources, Public Service, Justice and Legal Affairs, and National Unity, Reconciliation and Peace – are yet to have ministers.

Observers say the four ministries are being left vacant for any interested MPs from the other side.

The Government, now in the minority, is hoping there will be some cross-overs before Monday’s vote.

A government MP spoken to outside parliament on Thursday said MPs currently overseas have not confirmed which side they were in.

 Meanwhile, a member of the Honiara Hotel Camp claimed their 28 MPs have remained intact.

In parliament on Thursday, 23 MPs from the Honiara Hotel Camp were on the Opposition side of the House.