Nine locals to study in Korea - Solomon Star News

Nine locals to study in Korea

09 August 2018
Some of the recipients with KOICA's Country Coordinator Ms Nami An.

NINE local students will be leaving the country for study in various fields in Korea under an arrangement with the Korean International Cooperation Agency office (KOICA) this year.

The students will study for their Masters Degree in the next two years.

Out of the nine students, one is a female.

This fellowship program is part of KOICA's grant and aid support to the people and government of Solomon islands.

 It is also part of the mission and vision of KOICA contributing to the sustainable socio-economic development of Solomon Islands by assisting efforts to reduce poverty and improve the quality of life.

One of the recipients, Oliver Roger Lukos said they hope after completing their studies they will return and contribute to the development of the country.

The Korean government through KOICA funded this scholarship for 9 candidates with the total budget of 2, 654,640SBD /USD 331,830.

Four of them have left the country already and five more will leave the country soon.

The KOICA office urged the 9 recipients to strive towards excellence in their studies for better management and effective use of the opportunity

The nine students are as follows;




(Host Organization)




Mr. Anthony Junior Kivolyn

(Ministry of Finance and Treasury)

Regulation Management for Economic Development

(Korea Development Institute School)

Jul 30,


01/08/2018~ 27/12/2019


Mr. Michael McBride Makeea Oetara

(Panatina CHS)

Global Education Leadership

(Korea National University of Education)

Jul 30, 2018

02/08/2018~ 20/12/2019


Mr. Peter Suiramo

(Ministry of Education, Human Resource Development)

Techno-Entrepreneurship Competency based on EE&ICT Convergence

(Handong University)

Aug 05, 2018

06/08/2018~ 05/01/2020


Ms. Natalia Patternot

(Ministry of Foreign Affairs and External Trade)

Industry and Trade Policy

(KyungHee University)

Aug 08, 2018

09/08/2018~ 19/12/2019


Mr. Samuel Samarama Petty Kekou

(Ministry of Mines, Energy and Rural Electrification)

Energy Science and Policy

(Ajou University)

Aug 11, 2018

12/08/2018~ 12/01/2020


Mr. Oliver Roger Lukos

(Ministry of Health and Medical Services)

Integrated Chemical and Environmental Technology

(Hankyong National University)

Aug 14, 2018

15/08/2018~ 28/03/2020


Mr. Daddley Lyn Meloma

(Ministry of Development Planning and Aid Coordination)

Community Development

(Yonsei University-Wonju)

Aug 18, 2018

19/08/2018~ 21/12/2019


Mr. McJessey Leon Brian Beu

(Ministry of Environment Climate Change Disaster Management and Meteorology)

Atmospheric Environment

(Hankuk University of Foreign Affairs)

Aug 19, 2018

20/08/2018~ 20/02/2020


Mr. Franklyn Derek

(Ministry of Agriculture & Livestock )

Agricultural Production

(KyungPook National Uni)

Aug 22,


01/08/2018~ 20/12/2019