Thu, 20 July 2017
Last Updated: Thu, 20 Jul 2017 9am
Solomon Star
Solomon Star News - Google+ Solomon Star News - Facebook SolomSolomon Star News - Twitter

Schmeling names team

TELEKOM S-League Champions Marist FC has selected its final 23 line-up for its OFC Champions League campaign.

 Head coach Juliano Schmeling announced thefinal squad after their3-0 victory over TSL Select Side at Lawson Tama, Wednesday.

The side is days away from competing in the OFC Champions League group D to be hosted in Tahiti.

The 2017 OFC Champions League is the 16th edition Oceania's premier club football tournament organized by the Oceania Football Confederation (OFC), and the 11th season under the current OFC Champions League name.

Marist best finish at the OFC Champions League was in third place position at the 2017 edition.

With a group consisting of an all Pacific Island countries clubs, Schmeling and the boys are looking to go one step better by making the semi-finals.

Schmeling has both local and international players featured at his disposal.

The Brazilian told Star Sports he believes his selected crop of players will help Marist do well in the OFC Champions League campaign.

“We have 23 registered players and from the 23 we will use 18 during the tournament proper,” Schmeling said.

The winners of the 2017 OFC Champions League will qualify as the OFC representative at the 2017 FIFA Club World Cup in the United Arab Emirates.

Marist is in group D alongside hosts AS Tefana, Fijian champions Rewa and Vanuatu champions Erakor Golden Star.

Marist FC final squad members are:

1 Martin Saleimanu DF

2 Timothy Bakale MF

3 Zantas Soeasi Kabini GK

4 Mathias Iani FW

5 Joachim Kairi FW

6 Natanela Bero DF

7 Michael Steven Boso DF

8 Robert Laua DF

9 Joel Paka FW

10 Phillip Mango GK

11 Koriak Upaiga DF

12 Abraham Iniga FW

13 John Rofeta DF

14 Michael Kouma GK

15 Reuben Douglas MF

16 Tuti Zama Tanito FW

17 Atkin Kaua MF

18 Djair Veiga Francisco Junior MF

19 Andre Ribeiro Morosini DF

20 Guilherme Soares Guedes De Freitas FW

21 James Egeta DF

22 Jeffery Bule MF

23 Thomas Taloga MF

Coach: Juliano Schmeling



  • Latest Sports News

  • Most Popular