JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 48
Print this page

Aust justice minister visiting here

11 June 2014

AUSTRALIA’S Minister for Justice Michael Keenan will visit Solomon Islands over the next two days to discuss continuing support for the Solomon Islands people through law and justice initiatives.

Mr Keenan is scheduled to meet Prime Minister Gordon Darcy Lilo, the Minister for Police, National Security and Correctional Services Chris Laore, the Minister for Justice and Legal Affairs Commins Mewa, High Court Chief Justice Sir Albert Palmer, and acting Commissioner of Police Juanita Matanga.

Mr Keenan will also spend time meeting Australian and international police who are part of the Regional Assistance Mission to Solomon Islands (RAMSI), and representatives of the Australian diplomatic service working in the Solomon Islands.

“The support that Australia provides the government and people of Solomon Islands is vital in continuing to strengthen the rule of law,” Mr Keenan said.

In April one of the worst floods in Solomon Islands history resulted in the tragic loss of life and widespread damage.

A vast majority of the Australian assistance announced by the Minister for Foreign Affairs, Julie Bishop, following the floods were directed to help address immediate humanitarian needs including safe drinking water, emergency shelter, sanitation and hygiene.

Australia’s assistance was also supported by Australian Civilian Corps engineers, Australian Government Rapid Response Teams and Australian Defence Force personnel and assets. In addition, Australian Federal Police and the RAMSI Participating Police Force are also assisting the Royal Solomon Island Police Force with personnel and equipment.

“Australia enjoys a strong partnership with Solomon Islands, as we work together to promote law and order through RAMSI and our bilateral aid program,” Mr Keenan said.

The police deployed to RAMSI include members from Australia, the Cook Islands, Fiji, the Federated States of Micronesia, Kiribati, Nauru, New Zealand, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, the Republic of Marshall Islands, Samoa, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu.


Latest from