TEN FOR TSL - Solomon Star News


15 March 2021

The Telekom S-League (TSL) board has passed a resolution to have ten (10) teams in the new season this year and applications for club licensing are open for current and interested clubs.

This is a move to improve the competition and meet FIFA requirement for member associations to have at least 10 teams in their premier club competition, a statement from Solomon Islands Football Federation (SIFF) said.

Teams need to meet certain requirements set by the TSL board and SIFF before a club license is granted.

A team that wishes to compete in the TSL must have an Executive Board, constitution, club management, bank account, and training ground.

Other important requirements are all TSL clubs must have a youth U-19 team to play in the new U-19 S-League and a major sponsor.

The board after consultation with SIFF Technical department has set a requirement of OFC C-License, SIFF MA Senior Coaching Certificate, or equivalent for TSL coaches.

All current eleven clubs this season will have to apply since all their licenses will expire at the end of the season.

Successful ten clubs will pay SBD$25,000 as registration fee for the top tier and $5000 for the U19 S-League.

The closing date for the club licensing application is Wednesday 31st March 2021 end of the business.